On Being Present

'Og Mandino Cherish each hour of this day for it can never return' photo (c) 2014, BK - license: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

You woke up today.  You’ve been given another opportunity to live your own life.  Be present today.  As much as you can, turn off the screens in front of you, whether it be your phone, computer or television.  Open your eyes to what is going on around you.  Be amazed at creation today.  Ask that God will reveal himself to you.  I think you’ll have no choice but to be amazed.

“When it’s over, I want to say:  All my life I was a bride married to amazement.  I was the bridegroom, taking the world into my arms.  When it is over, I don’t want to wonder if I have made of my life something particular, and real.  I don’t want to find myself sighing and frightened, or full of argument.  I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.”

Mary Oliver from “When Death Comes”

 

Leave a Reply

