Nothing Is Wasted

I was talking to a friend a while back about things that had happened in our past that we regretted.  Things that caused us regret and still pain at times, even though we’re years past the initial incidents.  Toward the end of our conversation on the topic I think I said something like, Man, I wish I could just have a do-over…start from scratch and make better decisions or go back to before the bad things happened and see what I could have prevented.

She looked at me and said, I know.  But the only thing that gives me comfort over the regret and over the pain is to remember that nothing is wasted.  God wastes nothing in our experiences.  If we let him, our pain will turn to joy and our darkness to light.  It may take longer than we’d hope, but the things that we think are lost, the time we feel like we’ve wasted, God can redeem.

So as you’re dealing with loss, or pain or regret this season, I hope you will be comforted in the fact that your circumstances can be redeemed.  Old can be made new because He will restore our souls and make them new.

Peace be with you, friends.

Leave a Reply

